Tired of battling others & life?

There is no denying it. Life can sure be the pits at times!  And others can make it even more so too.  I know for I’ve been there.  Life had succeeded in breaking me down and I wasn’t bouncing back.  And to make it worse, I felt rejected and violated by the very people I had always trusted and held in high esteem!

My innocence and joy were gone.  Resentfulness and bitterness had taken their place and I didn’t even know it.  All I knew was I felt doomed to a life of struggle just to emotionally survive!

Can you relate or identify with some of that?  Then don’t stop here, for I bring you good news.  And don’t rely on your feelings for they can be very deceptive.  I’m thankful to be able to say with all surety that Hope is still within your reach.

I just came across this short thought below, which is from Rick Renner.  I know nothing about him, but I do know that what he wrote is right on!  For he put his finger right on what I eventually learned was keeping me from overcoming the state I had found myself in.  By the grace of God I too stumbled on this truth and worked to rid myself of what had become the dominant forces in my life: (anger, bitterness, and resentfulness, along with other negative feelings that had a chocking hold on my life.

“You may have suffered a hurt or offense in the past that harmed you terribly. In fact, it may have even robbed you of something that can never be returned or restored. But if you refuse to forgive — if you refuse to let go of anger, animosity, and bitterness — that offense will continue to work its destruction in your life. A past-tense problem will become a present-tense issue if you refuse to let go of your bitterness.

“As the bishop of your own heart, you are the only one who has the authority to rip the root of bitterness and offense out of your heart. If you don’t get over that past offense, you will give it the power to damage and even destroy your future as you drag it along like a bag of garbage or toxic waste.”

I found that last line to be pretty potent, for it describes well what my life had become, yet was blind to it.  But I’m so thankful my eyes were opened to the truth so over time I was again able to trust God and allow Him to help rid me of the garbage that had built up in my life, and to “detoxify” so I could once again learn to appreciate others and have Hope.  What a wonderful change that was… and thankfully life has never been the same!

That is my hope for you as well.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and don’t trust in your own understanding (or feelings!) In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5,6

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

